What would you do if your mother called you one day, from the other side of the ocean, to tell you your sister had disappeared?

Beatrice did not hesitate: she flew to England to find out what happened to her younger sister, Tess, a young and beautiful Arts student, passionate about life, loved by everyone around her, and more than that: her best friend in this life. Tess´ disappearance is not only the trigger for Beatrice´s search for her, but also the start of an emotional search for Bee´s inner self; it is an emotional thriller that reserves a not completely unexpected ending, but a surprising one, after the plot has led you through detailed considerations and descriptions about the relationship between siblings emotionally-wise and the way we sometimes do not comprehend our surroundings, while we thought we had them completely understood.

After 8 days, I finished “Sister”, from Rosamund Lupton, and I must say that I would have finished it before if I wasn´t the type of person that gets dizzy reading in the car lol… But anyways, this is just to say that I was so into this story that I just wanted to read it, and read it, and read it… The way Rosamund describes the relationship between Tess and Bee, and also the other family relations, is deeply touching. It is a sensitive approach, sometimes naive, but at the same time really strong. I was completely involved, and could not help to put myself in Bee´s or Tess´ shoes once in a while. It really made me think about my personal family relationships, and to look inside of me. It is not a drama book, nor a romantic one, but it does dive deeply inside siblings (and some family) relationships, what was not at all boring for me – and I also I like to understand the characters, so it was the perfect match.

If you are looking for an Agatha Christie style, do not read it (I say this because Agatha Christie is one of my favorite authors, and this book is definitely not like hers). But if you want an intriguing reading, with an investigation taking place, emotions and human relations, that´s the book! It even has a little bit of science discussion in it, which made it look more real (it is a fiction).

I did not write many other details to avoid spoilers, but if you want to find out more about it, check it out:

1- GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8196732-sister

2- Amazon (it is in Spanish because I read this one in the Spanish version, but I am sure you can find it in English by googling it): https://www.amazon.es/Hermana-Rosamund-Lupton-ebook/dp/B01B1FWLJ0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1467113351&sr=8-1&keywords=hermana

If anyone has read it, please leave a comment – agreeing or disagreeing!

See you in the next trip!

Denise

 

