Neil Gaiman being Neil Gaiman – amazing, incredible and making me believe in fantasy. The first book I read from him was “The Ocean at the End of the Lane”, which I got as a Christmas gift once… I read that in a day, too, because I couldn´t let go of it.

A light but deep narrative, mysterious but simple, pure fantasy translated into words – this would be my definition of Neil Gaiman´s Stardust and The Ocean at the End of the Lane.

Some parts of it reminded me of Alice in Wonderland, the witches reminded me of the Three Fates of Hercules and so on… nothing wrong with this, it actually just sharpens my memories and nostalgia over these other stories; a great, great feeling!

So this time Neil Gaiman takes us through the saga of Tristan, a romantic young man that is looking for a fallen star to take it to his loved one. However, he may not be the only one looking for the star, and this is what the adventure is all about.

This magical, engaging story made me travel so deep that I took less than a day from the Wall to the Fairy Land (sorry if these are not the names in English; I read this one in Spanish).

I can say Neil Gaiman is one of the best fantasy writers I have read so far; I hope to get through all of his books soon!!!

Please share your thoughts and comments on this book!

And see you soon!

Denise

